Recipes of the Week: Blueberry Chicken Salad and White Chocolate Vanilla Popcorn

I have two very different recipes to share this week. One is seasonal, light and satisfying. The other is decadent, sweet and overwhelming. Both great, just depends on your mood.

The first recipe is Blueberry Chicken Salad by The Pioneer Woman (she has it categorized under “cowgirl food”, which I love. Most of her cowgirl food recipes are right up my alley (most of her cowboy food recipes are right up Tim’s alley)). I made this last week because it is summer seasonal and makes perfect lunch leftovers. Since I’m cooking for one this summer I’ve been focused on finding recipes that make easily transportable leftovers. The only comments I would make are that they sauce is a little bit too thin. It’s tasty, but not as thick as normal chicken salad. I’m not sure how to fix that without adding more mayo, which I don’t really want to do. Even with a slightly watery sauce it’s still delicious. I ate it on a bed of spinach, but I’m sure it’d be good on bread too.

The second recipe is one that I just made an hour or so ago. It’s a riff off of this White Chocolate Lavender Vanilla Popcorn recipe from How Sweet It Is. I wanted to make the actual How Sweet It Is recipe, but I can’t finding cooking grade dried lavender at any of the normal places I shop. I’m going to have to find a speciality store somewhere, but I didn’t have time for that this morning. Instead of lavender I used cinnamon (my favorite spice). Definitely delicious, but very very sweet. Next time I might use less of the glaze. I think glaze + white chocolate + sugar is overkill (and I like sweets, so if I think this is too much that’s saying something).

I would definitely recommend both, but the popcorn should probably be made with the intention to share. Trying to eat a whole batch on your own would definitely make you sick.

Love,

JT

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

